French Ear-Assault Merchant Igorrr Returns!

on March 27th, Igorrr will release
their new album, Spirituality
And Distortion
, via Metal Blade Records. For a preview of the
record, a video for the new single, “Camel Dancefloor”, can be viewed
This Location

Igorrr‘s Gautier Serre
comments: “On an album,
there is always a track that you are more addicted to. ‘Camel Dancefloor’ is
this one track that I always come and listen to it by necessity, very

This acoustic guitar loop you
find almost all the way long on this track is something which I got completely
obsessed with – I dreamed about it – I was playing it every day. I’m not sure
how the brain works, but this melody has something that worked on me.

As a synesthetic person, this
sound brings a very beautiful Brown/Châtain/Orange color to my mind, in an
unusual clear and strong manner. This has a very strong Arabic vibe in it, it
was awesome to be able to underline it even more with Antony Miranda playing
this very special guitar, and Timba Harris again to make it sound even more
Arabic and specific like it’s coming straight from a camel mind.To be perfectly
honest, I’m sure that if a camel would have a human similar music sensibility
and a taste for extreme music, ‘Camel Dancefloor’ would perfectly be the
soundtrack of his mind. At this point, it’s perfectly logical for me that this
track has to end with an excessively heavy metal riffing.”

The previous videos for “Very Noise” and
“Parpaing” can be seen at:
where Spirituality And
can be pre-ordered in the following formats:

– digipak-CD

– box set (digipak CD, pink vinyl, cassette, 48-page
artbook, puzzle, pendant – EU exclusive – limited to 1000 copies)

– “Magma” – red / black marbled vinyl (US
exclusive – limited to 1100 copies)

– “Smoke” – clear w/ black smoke vinyl (US
exclusive – limited to 300 copies)

– “Ink and Paint” – black w/ white edge marbled
vinyl (US exclusive – limited to 300 copies)

– “Tiger’s Eye” – amber marbled vinyl (Bandcamp
exclusive – limited to 300 copies)

– 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)

– brown / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to
500 copies)

– grey / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to
400 copies)

– picture disc vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300

– red / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200

– grey / white swirl vinyl (EU shop exclusive – limited to
100 copies)

– black / white split vinyl (EU shop exclusive – limited
to 100 copies)

– liquid vinyl (EU shop exclusive – limited to 50 copies)

With 2017’s Savage Sinusoid, Igorrr more than
proved to be a truly unique musical force – and 2020’s Spirituality And Distortion
cements that well-earned reputation. Slamming together disparate musical styles
ranging from death and black metal to breakcore, Balkan, baroque and classical
music in a manner that is as unconventional and unpredictable as it is
thrilling, Igorrr
are unlike any other act, and Spirituality
And Distortion
displays just as broad a range of emotions as
sounds. “Getting stuck in
only one emotion is very boring to me; life is a wide range of emotions –
sometimes you’re happy, sometimes you’re sad, angry, pissed off, nostalgic or
blown away,”
states mastermind Gautier Serre. “Life is not only one color. These
14 tracks are a journey through different states of mind I’ve been

At no stage was there any plan, embracing the freedom offered in the wake of achieving Savage Sinusoid and going wherever ideas took him, embracing a small army of specialist musicians to help him attain his vision. Importantly, like its predecessor, this is not a predominantly electronic record. “The organization part has been more complicated as we had to fly traditional instrumentalists to our studio, so, lots of planes, trains and cars were involved to make it happen, but all the acoustic instruments have been recorded traditionally, with no help of the computer.” These included violinist Timba Harris, bassist Mike Leon, pianist Matt Lebofsky, Oud player Mehdi Haddab, accordion player Pierre Mussi, Kanoun player Fotini Kokkala and harpsichordist Benjamin Bardiaux, among others. Vocally, the most prominent performer is Laure Le Prunenec, whose operatic strains are a longtime part of the Igorrr mix, while regular collaborator Laurent Lunoir also appears on a few tracks. Serre also invited Pierre Lacasa and Jasmine Barra back to the studio (known from their appearance on previous tracks like “Vegetable Soup” and “Cheval”) to appear on “Kung-Fu Chèvre” and got to realize a dream with one guest performer. “We had the honor to welcome my personal favorite musical hero on this album: George ‘Corpsegrinder’ Fisher of Cannibal Corpse. He screams on the track ‘Parpaing’, and his legendary voice brings the heaviness this track deserved. George is like the final boss of death metal. Like on a video game you have the final boss who is the strongest, George is the best in death metal singing. Due to the extreme heaviness and violence of his voice, I found it very much coherent to contrast it with a cheap tune of 8bit music which is the least heavy music on earth. The contrast is beautiful to my ears.” However, lyrics are less important when he is creating, and often these are delivered in languages he does not even speak. “As with the previous albums, I’m entirely focused on the sound itself and how the sonorities of the voice speaks to the heart, not the intellectual meaning of the words.

Spirituality And Distortion track-listing
1. Downgrade Desert
2. Nervous Waltz
3. Very Noise
4. Hollow Tree
5. Camel Dancefloor
6. Parpaing
7. Musette Maximum
8. Himalaya Massive Ritual
9. Lost in Introspection
10. Overweight Poesy
11. Paranoid Bulldozer Italiano
12. Barocco Satani
13. Polyphonic Rust
14. Kung-Fu Che`vre